Team

ArchaeoConcept currently has six employees.

Dr. Cynthia Dunning Thierstein
Cynthia Dunning Thierstein is director of ArchaeoConcept and is responsible for heritage management projects. She is an archaeologist specialising in the European Early Iron Age. She presented her doctorate in 2005 on the theme of the Early Iron Age in the Jura (University of Geneva). After having studied inGeneva and Marburg an der Lahn (Germany), she was assistant in Prehistoric Archaeology in the University of Geneva. From 1989 to 1998 she directed the Schwab Museum  in Biel and from 1998 to 2010 she was responsible for the Archaeological Service of the Canton of Berne. From the beginning of her career in the 1980’s, Cynthia Dunning Thierstein was always very interested in the theory of archaeology and its management. She reorganised the Archaeological Service of the Canton of Bern to make this institution, which is responsible for all archaeological work from the inventory to the public relations, a more efficient and sustainable enterprise. Since 1998 Cynthia Dunning Thierstein has actively taken part in the management of the Europae Archaeologiae Concilium (EAC), a non-governmental association bringing together the managers of archaeological heritage in Europe, organising international meetings defining the problems of modern archaeology in Europe. In 2011, she founded ArchaeoConcept. Cynthia Dunning Thierstein is also member of numerous national and international associations (ICOMOS, ICOM, EAA, AS, ARS, AGUS). She was vice-president of the association “Palafittes” for the Inscription to the World Heritage of the Pile-dwellings around the Alps and was a member of the board of “Archéologie Suisse”. In 2012, she completed her MAS in Cultural Management at the University of Basel. She is also an accredited ICOMOS expert for World Heritage nominations and an active ICAHM member. At the EAA, she created together with Annemarie Willems the Community “Archaeology and Toursim”. In 2015 and 2016, she developed the management plan for the World Heritage nomination of Sharjah: Gateway to the Trucial States (UAE) and is currently working on the World Heritage nomination for the Cultural landscape of the Central Region in the Emirate of Sharjah (UAE). She is also working on valorization projects in Switzerland, such as www.site-of-the-month.ch or the enhancement of the archaeological landscape around the castle of Fenis Hasenburg in the canton of Bern.
Publications

Ellinor Dunning
Ellinor Dunning is project coordinator for ArchaeoConcept since November 2015. She successfully completed her Master of Arts in Prehistoric Archaeology at the University of Neuchâtel (2016). Her master thesis work focuses on the enhancement of archaeological sites in Switzerland: she analyses the processes of heritage development on the basis of a comparative empirical study of three enhancement projects and a fundamental theoretical reflection. This work has earned her the Jéquier Prize, which rewards published or deserving publication work of interest to the Neuchâtel region or promoting archaeological research at the University of Neuchâtel. She obtained her Bachelor of Arts in Archaeology and Ethnology, also at the University of Neuchâtel (2012). In addition, she completed a semester of her Master’s degree in Germany (Erasmus, 2015) at the University of Halle an der Saale (Saxony-Anhalt). Ellinor Dunning has already worked for ArchaeoConcept as an intern, between August 2012 and June 2013; she has carried out several excavation and prospecting internships in France (Auvergne, Lot, Tarn) and Sudan (Kerma); she has also worked occasionally as a cultural mediator at the Neues Museum Biel (NMB). With Cynthia Dunning, she developed the management plan for the World Heritage nomination of the “Sharjah Gateway to the Trucial States” dossier and is now working on the nomination of the “The Cultural Landscape of the Central Region in the Emirate of Sharjah (UAE)” dossier. She is also currently employed by the University of Neuchâtel to work on an SNSF AGORA science communication project. This project, entitled Heritage Emotions, aims to communicate the emotions that link us to the Swiss archaeological heritage. It will lead to the setting up of a participatory exhibition of vernacular photographs that will open in May 2019 at the Laténium. Her main interests lie in the development of a social archaeology whose values are shared and co-constructed. She is also interested in the processes of production and transmission of so-called “legitimate” knowledge as well as in archaeological knowledge known as “alternative”.
She is president of the ArchaeoTourism association.

Camille Aeschimann
Camille Aeschimann works at ArchaeoConcept on the “Salons archéologiques” project as an anthropologist and project collaborator. After completing a Bachelor’s degree in ethnology and human geography, she completed a Master’s degree in social sciences and anthropology at the University of Neuchâtel. During her Master’s degree, she specialized in issues related to social action and public policy. His interest is in projects led by NGOs or associations that aim at forms of social change. In 2016, she completed a five-month ethnographic field in Uganda with a local NGO. Shestudied the implementation of a participatory human rights project with village communities in the west of the country (Bunyoro). She also currently manages the organisation of excursions and the archaeological fair for the EAA’s annual meeting to be held in 2019 in Bern.

Aurélia Basterrechea
Aurélia Basterrechea has been a scientific collaborator at ArchaeoConcept since May 2017. She holds a Master of Arts in Museum Studies from the University of Neuchâtel and continues her studies by specializing in pre- and protohistoric archaeology with a second Master’s degree. Interested in the enhancement and transmission of heritage, she wrote her first critical thesis questioning the enhancement of the archaeological heritage of Sion in Valais. At the same time, she is a member of the committee of the Association Valaisanne d’Archéologie and the Association des Jeunes Archéologues de Martigny, where she leads workshops and gives archaeology courses in primary classes in Valais in the summer of 2016. She participated in several excavation campaigns in the canton of Vaud, Valais and Kerma in Sudan with the Swiss Archaeological Mission. In 2018, it joined the archaeological survey campaign conducted by the RAHMA association on the Valaisan passes. She continues her museum work, in particular with the Neues Museum Biel (NMB) and the AGORA project for the travelling exhibition Ice Age Panorama with the University of Neuchâtel. Within ArchaeoConcept, she mainly manages the Sites of the Month project but also carries out research on popular science via digital platforms such as Youtube and social networks. She also volunteers at the various events organized as part of the Sites of the Month and organizes the excursions.

Lauriane Vieli
Lauriane Vieli completed a ten-month internship at ArchaeoConcept from August 2015 to June 2016, during which she participated in numerous projects. She was thus able to complete her training at both the technical and theoretical level. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Archaeology from the University of Neuchâtel and has been pursuing her Master’s degree in Prehistoric Archaeology since spring 2016. Her master thesis concerns the Study of the Pile-dwelling site of the final Neolithic period of Montilier/Dorfmatte II, excavation of 2004 (Fribourg, Switzerland). As part of an Erasmus program, in 2017, she studied for one year at the Musée national d’Histoire naturelle de Paris (MNHN, France). After this year of study abroad, Lauriane is working again at ArchaeoConcept. In parallel with her studies, she completed a six-month part-time internship at the Archaeological Service of Fribourg (SAEF) as well as surveys and research cataloguing Switzerland’s rock shelters. She has also done excavatons in the canton of Fribourg, the Marne and Rozel (France), Sicily (Italy) and Kerma (Sudan). Lauriane worked as a guardian and guide for the SAEF temporary exhibition for a year and a half. Since 2014, she has been elected to the Archeo-Fribourg-Freiburg Committee.

Stefanie Hug
Stephanie Hug has been working at ArchaeoConcept as a scientific collaborator since January 2018. She also works in archaeological object management at the Archaeological Service of the Canton of Zurich. She completed her Bachelor’s degree in General History and Prehistoric Archaeology at the University of Zurich in the spring of 2017. She is currently working on her Master’s degree on the subject of Early Iron Age settlements in the Canton of Berne, which she will probably obtain in autumn 2020. In addition, she has worked on archaeological excavations both in Switzerland and abroad. Within ArchaeoConcept, she is in charge of the translation and is responsible for the German-speaking management of the Site of the Month project since early 2018. In addition, she accompanies Cynthia Dunning in her research on Ins (canton of Bern).

Back To Top

Comments are closed.

Equipe

ArchaeoConcept emploie actuellement six personnes.

Dr. Cynthia Dunning Thierstein
Cynthia Dunning Thierstein est directrice d’ArchaeoConcept et responsable des projets de gestion du patrimoine. Elle est archéologue, spécialiste de l’Age du Fer. Elle a rendu sa thèse de doctorat en 2005 sur le thème du Premier Age du Fer dans le Jura (Université de Genève). Après ses études à Genève et à Marburg an der Lahn (Allemagne), elle devient assistante de préhistoire à l’Université de Genève. Elle dirige de 1989 à 1998 le Musée Schwab à Bienne et de 1998 à 2010 le Service archéologique du Canton de Berne. Dès ses études dans les années 80’, Cynthia Dunning Thierstein s’est intéressée à la théorie de l’archéologie et aux formes de fonctionnement de celle-ci. Elle a mis en place une nouvelle organisation du Service archéologique dans le canton de Berne et a développé ce service pour qu’il puisse assurer une gestion efficace de l’archéologie de l’inventaire jusqu’à la médiatisation. Depuis 1998, Cynthia Dunning Thierstein participe activement à la gestion de l’Europae Archaeologiae Concilium, une association non gouvernementale réunissant les gestionnaires de l’archéologie de l’Europe entière qui met en place des colloques et définit les problématiques de l’archéologie contemporaine pour cette région géographique. En 2011, Cynthia Dunning Thierstein crée ArchaeoConcept. Elle est membre de nombreuses associations nationales et internationales (ICOMOS, ICOM, EAA, AS, AGUS, ARS). Elle fut vice-présidente de l’association Palafittes pour l’inscription au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO des sites en milieu humide autour des Alpes et membre du comité d’AS (Archéologie Suisse) jusqu’en 2012. En 2012 elle obtint son MAS en management culturel à l’Université de Bâle. Elle est experte attitrée d’ICOMOS pour les nominations à l’UNESCO et membre active d’ICAHM. A l’EAA, elle a crée avec Annemarie Willems la communauté de travail “Archéologie et tourisme”. En 2015 et 2016, elle a développé le plan de gestion pour la nomination au patrimoine mondial de Sharjah: Gateway to the Trucial States (EAU) et travaille actuellement sur le dossier de nomination et le plan de gestion des Cultural Landscape of the Central Region of Sharjah (EAU). Elle travaille également sur des projets de valorisation de sites en Suisse, tels lw wwwAdd an Image.site-of-the-month.ch ou encore le projet de valorisation de Fenis-Hasenburg dans le canton de Berne.

Publications

Ellinor Dunning
Ellinor Dunning est coordinatrice de projet pour ArchaeoConcept depuis novembre 2015. Elle a terminé avec succès son Master of Arts en Archéologie préhistorique à l’Université de Neuchâtel (2016). Son travail de mémoire porte sur la valorisation des sites archéologiques en Suisse : elle y analyse les processus de patrimonialisation à partir de l’étude empirique comparative de trois projets de valorisation et d’une réflexion théorique de fond. Ce travail lui a valu l’obtention du Prix Jéquier, qui récompense un travail publié ou méritant publication, intéressant la région neuchâteloise ou promouvant la recherche archéologique de l’Université de Neuchâtel. Elle a obtenu son Bachelor of Arts en archéologie et en ethnologie, également à l’Université de Neuchâtel (2012). En outre, elle a effectué un semestre de son Master en Allemagne (Erasmus, 2015), à l’Université de Halle an der Saale (Saxe-Anhalt). Ellinor Dunning a déjà travaillé pour ArchaeoConcept en tant que stagiaire, entre août 2012 et juin 2013 ; elle a effectué plusieurs stages de fouilles et de prospections en France (Auvergne, Lot, Tarn) et au Soudan (Kerma) ; elle a aussi travaillé ponctuellement en tant que médiatrice culturelle au Nouveau Musée Bienne (NMB). Avec Cynthia Dunning, elle a développé le plan de gestion pour la nomination au Patrimoine Mondial du dossier « Sharjah Gateway to the Trucial States » et travaille désormais sur la nomination du dossier « The Cultural Landscape of the Central Region in the Emirate of Sharjah (UAE) ». Elle est aussi actuellement employée par l’Université de Neuchâtel pour travailler sur un projet FNS de communication scientifique AGORA. Ce projet, intitulé Émotions patrimoniales, vise à communiquer sur les émotions qui nous lient au patrimoine archéologique suisse. Il aboutira à la mise en place d’une exposition participative de photographies vernaculaires qui ouvrira ses portes en mai 2019 au Laténium, parc et musée d’archéologie de Neuchâtel. Ses intérêts principaux résident dans le développement d’une archéologie sociale dont les valeurs sont partagées et co-construites. Elle s’intéresse également aux processus de production et de transmission des savoirs dits « légitimes » ainsi qu’aux savoirs archéologiques dits « alternatifs ».
Elle est présidente de l’association ArchaeoTourism.

Camille Aeschimann
Camille Aeschimann travaille à ArchaeoConcept sur le projet des « Salons archéologiques » en tant qu’anthropologue et collaboratrice de projet. Après avoir suivi un Bachelor en ethnologie et géographie humaine, elle réalise un Master en sciences sociales, anthropologie, à l’Université de Neuchâtel. Au cours de son Master, elle se spécialise dans des questions relatives à l’action sociale et aux politiques publiques. Son intérêt se porte sur des projets menés par des ONG ou associations qui visent des formes de changement social. En 2016, elle réalise un terrain ethnographique de cinq mois en Ouganda en intégrant une ONG locale. Elle y étudie la mise en place d’un projet participatif, relatif aux droits humains, avec des communautés villageoises de l’ouest du pays (Bunyoro). Elle gère également la mise en place des excursions et de la foire archéologique pour l’assemblée annuelle de l’EAA qui aura lieu en 2019 à Berne.

Aurélia Basterrechea
Aurélia Basterrechea est collaboratrice scientifique chez ArchaeoConcept depuis mai 2017. Détentrice d’un master es Lettres en études muséales de l’Université de Neuchâtel, elle poursuit ses études en se spécialisant en archéologie pré- et protohistorique avec un second master. Intéressée par la valorisation et la transmission du patrimoine, elle rend en été 2016 un premier mémoire critique questionnant la valorisation du patrimoine archéologique de Sion en Valais. Parallèlement, elle fait partie du comité de l’Association Valaisanne d’Archéologie et de l’Association des Jeunes Archéologues de Martigny, cadre dans lequel elle anime des ateliers et donne des cours d’archéologie dans les classes primaires en Valais. Elle a participé à plusieurs campagnes de fouilles au canton de Vaud, en Valais et à Kerma au Soudan avec la mission archéologique Suisse. En 2018, elle intègre la campagne de prospections archéologique menée par l’association RAHMA sur les cols valaisans. Elle poursuit ses collaborations muséales notamment avec le NMBienne et le projet AGORA d’exposition itinérante Ice Age Panorama avec l’Université de Neuchâtel. Au sein d’ArchaeoConcept, elle gère principalement le projet des Sites du mois mais effectue aussi des recherches sur la vulgarisation scientifique via les plateformes numériques tel que Youtube et les réseaux sociaux. Elle est également bénévole lors des différents événements organisés dans le cadre des Sites du mois et organise les excursions au sein de ce dernier.

Lauriane Vieli
Lauriane Vieli a effectué un stage de dix mois auprès d’ArchaeoConcept, du mois d’août 2015 à juin 2016, durant lequel elle a participé à de nombreux projets. Elle a ainsi pu compléter sa formation aussi bien au niveau technique que théorique. Diplômée d’un Bachelor en Archéologie à l’Université de Neuchâtel, elle poursuit son cursus en Master d’Archéologie préhistorique, depuis le printemps 2016. Son mémoire porte sur l’Etude de l’habitat palafittique du Néolithique final de Montilier/Dorfmatte II, fouille de 2004 (Fribourg, Suisse). Dans le cadre d’un Erasmus, en 2017, elle a étudié une année au Museum national d’Histoire naturelle de Paris (MNHN, France). Après cette année d’études à l’étranger, Lauriane travaille à nouveau à ArchaeoConcept. En parallèle de ses études, elle a effectué un stage, à temps partiel, de six mois, au Service archéologique de Fribourg (SAEF) ainsi que des prospections et des recherches en vue d’un référencement des abris sous roche de Suisse. Elle a également fouillé à plusieurs reprises dans le canton de Fribourg, la Marne et le Rozel (France), la Sicile (Italie) et à Kerma (Soudan). Lauriane s’est occupée du gardiennage de l’exposition temporaire du SAEF pendant une année et demi. Depuis 2014, elle a été élue au Comité d’ArcheoFribourg-Freiburg.

Stephanie Hug
Stephanie Hug travaille depuis le mois de janvier 2018 chez ArchaeoConcept comme collaboratrice scientifique. Elle travaille également dans la gestion des objets archéologiques au Service archéologique du canton de Zurich. Elle a fini son diplôme de Bachelor en Histoire générale et Archéologie préhistorique à l’Université de Zurich au printemps 2017. Elle travaille actuellement à l’obtention du diplôme de Master sur le thème des habitats du Premier âge du fer dans le canton de Berne qu’elle obtiendra probablement en automne 2020. En outre, elle a travaillé sur des fouilles archéologiques aussi bien en Suisse qu’à l’étranger. Au sein d’ArchaeoConcept, elle se charge de la traduction et rejoint le projet du Site du mois en début 2018 pour la gestion alémanique du programme. En outre, elle accompagne Cynthia Dunning dans les recherches concernant les tumuli de Ins (canton de Berne).

Back To Top

Comments are closed.